Eclipse 10ft Standard Mill Parts Help

Share and discuss your windmill related projects.
wetsand

Eclipse 10ft Standard Mill Parts Help

Post by wetsand »

Just doing parts inventory. Windmill is in unbelievable original condition. Blades must have been stored inside .

Parts Needed
#7 Outside Wheel Clip
#8 Inside Wheel Clip
#38 Wheel Bar

Does anyone every put bearings on the Main Pivot that sits on Tower Cap? Seems like an easy modern enhancement to add. Should I leave all paint on blades original faded Green? Metail natural aged?

This is my first project with an old windmill.

Thank you
truckload.png
7and8.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CTXmiller

Re: Eclipse 10ft Standard Mill Parts Help

Post by CTXmiller »

Welcome to the forum and you have a nice find there.

I know little about wooden wheeled windmills, but I’d imagine a lot depends on where you intend to erect it (within a barn or outside)…like for the finish of the blades verses adding a coat of paint to the finish to protect the wood. I’d suspect that any bearing you could add, be it an oil impregnated thrust washer, roller bearing, etc, is better than cast on cast.

Others more knowledgeable can provide better opinions.
mtblah

Post by mtblah »

Chuck , welcome aboard , your barn find is really cool , and you got the water pump with the deal !
you are at the right place to ask questions , share photos , and get "good" answers . Michael is right about the thrust washer , look under the section for sources who supply those washers .
Windcatcher530 Dan

Post by Windcatcher530 Dan »

Chuck very nice find. As far as the wheel i would leave it the way it is maybe just a light cleaning dish soap and water. The gear box yes fix it up and paint.That was the advice i got on my barn find Stover. Good luck and keep us posted. Dan !!
JBarker

Post by JBarker »

great find, keep us up to date on your restoration.
Jerry Barker
Wills Point, Texas
214-893-2864